Good Dirt

Standard

Well, today was my first day this year to play in the dirt! I just couldn’t resist. Officially, I was just walking to the back of the garden th check out the asparagus patch … you know … just in case … yeah-I do remember that we had snow drifts taller than I am only 3 weeks ago, but a girl can hope can’t she?!

So…on my ‘way by’ I just couldn’t help but stoop down and pull some of that wandering grass from the edges of my gardens. I’m sure it was quite a site … me, still holding the quilt squares I was bringing to the house from ‘grama’s little house’ (as our little grandson calls my craft cottage!) and the winter onions I picked, and the stray seed bag that’s been blowing around the yard since that big snow storm … all my jewels still on from my day of meetings … by the time I got back to the house both hands were caked with dirt/mud…WHAT A GOOD FEELING.

Everything smells SO good outside today! It’s been warm and muggy … in the summer I’d probably complain about that, but not now…it’s wonderful! Early this evening we even had a thunder-shower…a sound for cabin-fever-ears. All this made me very lonesome for my sister, who lives in Marin County, Calif … the smell outside in Iowa today SO smelled like I remember winter smelling at her home … oh for a week to go and play with my little sister… sigh …

My latest digital project! I was having fun with the new ‘sewing’ skills I’ve been honing!

coaster-2-4×4-only.jpg and       coaster-3-4×4-only.jpg

These layouts were modge-podged to a glass vase (rectangular shaped) and made into a pencil holder! pencil-holder-small.jpg

It’s a big step up from the ice cream container I was using, don’t you think???

About Linda Jacobson

Wife, Mom, Grama, and Dreamer! I love all things crafty - sewing, pattern making/designing, quilting, knitting, crocheting, embroidery, digital photography, digital scrapbooking, ... see? I really DO love all things crafty! If I listed ALL the crafty things I've done this list would require an entire page!

Leave a Reply

