Welcome Ms Scarlett

Standard

I’ll admit it! This post is VERY late! Our most recent addition to the family arrived Feb 9. Her name is Scarlett and she’s adorable!  She was born at home (in California) and I was SO BLESSED … her mom and dad allowed be to be there (extra pair of hands to help with the older two children). Thanks Tara and Nathan for sharing such a special day with me!

You might wonder, “You’ve had three children, Linda. What makes this one different?”

Well! Now that I’ve been at a home birth … I can honestly say they are BY FAR the better way to go! First off, the obvious, it’s your comfort zone … no extra people, no institutional noices (intercom, machines, etc) … just you, your people, your sounds (music, etc), your smells, your stuff, … well you get my point, right?

Then there’s the midwives (yep…there were 2) and the dula (she’s a trained ‘helper’ … role is just to be attentive to the needs of the mama … backrubs, etc!) … all so quiet, gentle, reassuring … an amazingly calming factor in the situation. You know, I had visions in my head of what a home birth would be like, based on my experiences of giving birth (in a hospital) and what people have shared with me from their experiences in giving birth at home. I just had NO WAY to imagine the atmospher of a home birth. It was so peaceful (even during the hard labor and pushing stages … sure there was noise, but it was ‘with purpose’ and expected) … so focused … so beautiful!

Now … with no further adu … here she is … Ms. Scarlett!

(bbs with a photo! sorry! what a tease I am!)

About Linda Jacobson

Wife, Mom, Grama, and Dreamer! I love all things crafty - sewing, pattern making/designing, quilting, knitting, crocheting, embroidery, digital photography, digital scrapbooking, ... see? I really DO love all things crafty! If I listed ALL the crafty things I've done this list would require an entire page!

Leave a Reply

