Use your keyboard to manage Layers!

Standard

Okay … by now you know I LOVE Quick Keys, right?! So today I’m going to share 4 of my favorite quick keys that help me work with the Layers Palette without EVER moving my mouse over to it!

Changing the ORDER of my current layer

  • CTRL + [ will move my current layer down one layer at a time
  • CTRL + ] will move my current layer UP one layer at a time

Changing the ACTIVE layer

  • ALT + [ moves ME to the next layer down (changing the active layer to the layer below where I was)
  • ALT + ] moves me to the next layer UP (changing the active layer to the layer above where I was)

OK . . . I know . . . right now you are thinking WHY WOULD I CARE? I mean, really! How hard is it to just go to the Layers Palette and do this stuff there? Am I right? Well … here are a couple time I can say I totally depend on these tools!

Creating a new Text Layer – sometimes I quickly switch to the Text Tool, click, and start typing ONLY to discover that my text is BELOW something in my layout and I can’t see what I’m typing!!! Aargh! Well … no problem! I just press CTRL + ] until I can see the text and then I’m ready to continue typing!

When I need to make custom shadows . . . I definitely use these commands then (see my tutorial for details)

When I am duplicating layers (CTRL=J) and want to quickly change their order in the Layers Palette … no need to go get that mouse until I’m done.

I KNOW there are more so will come back and add them as I discover them! You may want to check this post off & on as it’s likely to change!

About Linda Jacobson

Wife, Mom, Grama, and Dreamer! I love all things crafty - sewing, pattern making/designing, quilting, knitting, crocheting, embroidery, digital photography, digital scrapbooking, ... see? I really DO love all things crafty! If I listed ALL the crafty things I've done this list would require an entire page!

Leave a Reply

